UO Evolution

Tech Support => Questions & Answers => Topic started by: MisterTuggles on April 23, 2016, 06:55:53 AM

Title: UOSteam and out of memory error
Post by: MisterTuggles on April 23, 2016, 06:55:53 AM
Hey guys,


 Recently installed windows 10, and ever since I have done this I am unable to launch the game with UOSteam. Every time I attempt to do so I am met with the dreaded "Out of memory" error, and can't get the client to launch.


 I've tried setting priority in the task manager to allocate more memory to the game, I've tried closing down everything other than the essentials (anti-virus, etc), and still no luck with getting the game to actually launch. I believe I have 8gigs of DDR4 (may be 3, been a while since I've built this computer), a GTX 770 2gb GDDR5 video card. I can run just about everything, and anything, but this now. I can run 5+ clients of Eve Online, etc, etc, etc.


Anyone have a suggestion or a work around to solve this? Would like to get back into playing a bit, but this seems to be quite the hang up for me :-P




Thanks in advance for any help.suggestions.
Title: Re: UOSteam and out of memory error
Post by: Evolution on April 24, 2016, 09:56:57 PM
You might look at the troubleshooting section and documentation on the UO Steam website

http://www.uosteam.com/ (http://www.uosteam.com/)
http://www.uosteam.com/uo-steam-faq/ (http://www.uosteam.com/uo-steam-faq/)
http://www.uosteam.com/uo-steam-guide/ (http://www.uosteam.com/uo-steam-guide/)

Read how to disable defender?
http://uoevolution.com/forum/index.php?topic=7735.0 (http://uoevolution.com/forum/index.php?topic=7735.0)

I have found that running the client in compatibility mode for windows XP SP 2 has had a 50/50 fix ratio for most players who are experiencing these issues.  Also make sure you run it as an Admin
Title: Re: UOSteam and out of memory error
Post by: MisterTuggles on April 25, 2016, 03:21:05 PM
I had to kill off a bunch of startup processes to get it going. Not real sure why it eats so much memory, but, problem solved!

Thanks for the response.
Title: Re: UOSteam and out of memory error
Post by: xG00BERx on August 17, 2016, 06:29:34 PM
This is an interesting issue. I have two buddies on this server right now who get that Error while running 16 gigs of RAM and are most definitely not using all of that memory.



Title: Re: UOSteam and out of memory error
Post by: thallos on August 18, 2016, 06:13:16 PM
I do not run it as admin and never have any issues. I run WIN7.
Title: Re: UOSteam and out of memory error
Post by: akacorpse on August 25, 2016, 04:10:08 PM
It's an issue stemming from the age of the program. It was written in a time where 2GB of memory wasn't a thing and was never changed to consider more RAM. If Steam doesn't open in the first two GB of your memory it will give you the error. Never happens on my home PC, but I get the issue every night when I boot up my laptop. Sometimes I can fenagel and open TS/a web browser, try again, and it'll work. Easiest workaround I've found is to literally open it the instant I have a chance after booting up. Real shame that it was never updated to fit with current PC specs.
Title: Re: UOSteam and out of memory error
Post by: Kotten Mouf on August 27, 2016, 07:59:43 AM
After a half day of rage, I have discontinued uosteam. Always liked it more than Razor but I can not tolerate its refusal to start when I have tons of free ram and no defender.

Updating to Win 10 is the worst thing I ever done. Hate it with a passion. Cant even get the extra buttons on my mouse to work since the upgrade even after several driver dl's and tinkering. VERY frustrating.

Title: Re: UOSteam and out of memory error
Post by: Smilingdeath on August 27, 2016, 09:43:40 PM
That is odd, myself I have yet to have a problem with UOSteam other than about once per week I get the memory problem. 


Everything else runs smooth on it except the video card, but they finally patched that bug and all is well.


Now I do wish someone would update UOSteam so that it would run better on the modern systems, I think we can all agree with that.
Title: Re: UOSteam and out of memory error
Post by: Vonz on October 11, 2016, 02:14:40 AM
I have a Razor Naga Mouse. I noticed if I close the Razor Synapse, it fixes the issue. I just restart it after I log into UOE. I have 32gb of RAM so I knew it wasn't a memory issue. I do CGI graphics hence the reason for the huge amount of ram.


Also if you use a Razor Mouse. In the Razor Synapse make sure to create a profile for it and then under the configuration page. Click the, "Link Program", and make sure to select the UO.exe.
Title: Re: UOSteam and out of memory error
Post by: FaceOfBoe on January 15, 2017, 04:05:26 PM
hey all. If you get this try the following. it worked for me.
Right click the shorcut for UOS select properties.
Go to compatibility tab.
Check the box for "Run this program in compatibility mode for" then select windows 7.
Put a check in the "Run this program as an administrator"


this worked for me.
Title: Re: UOSteam and out of memory error
Post by: DarkWarrior on January 25, 2017, 08:23:41 AM
An easy fix:

Getting a Windows Virtual Memory Error when starting Ultima Online from UOSteam?
1. Download: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/w4tdwz7f7shm02e/AAB1AE72tDVttkaAobamK045a?dl=0 (https://www.dropbox.com/sh/w4tdwz7f7shm02e/AAB1AE72tDVttkaAobamK045a?dl=0)
Open the Program
2. Select an Executable -- Select client.exe in your UO install directory.
3. Check Box the Large Address Aware Flag!
4. Click Save. Restart UOSteam and it should open Ultima Online fine.
Title: Re: UOSteam and out of memory error
Post by: Evolution on December 27, 2018, 02:54:17 PM
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/126962/out-of-memory-error-message-appears-when-you-have-a-large-number-of-pr (https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/126962/out-of-memory-error-message-appears-when-you-have-a-large-number-of-pr)